See Prince Babatunde Ajayi, the new Akarigbo of Remo + How he emerged

Prince Babatunde Ajayi from Oluyomade lineage of the Torungbuwa Ruling House, Sagamu, has emerged as the new Akarigbo and Paramount Ruler of Remoland on Thursday.

According to information at the disposal of the Tribune Online on Thursday, Ajayi is a legal practitioner and chartered accountant.

This was confirmed by the Ogun State Government through the State Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Chief Jide Ojuko, in a telephone conversation with newsmen in Abeokuta.

The commissioner said that the Oba-elect pooled five against two votes garnered by Professor Babatunde Ogunmola, in an election conducted by the seven kingmakers in the town.

Prince Ajayi was said to have polled five votes while Professor Babatunde Ogunmola had two votes. He is from the Oluyomade lineage of the Torungbuwa Ruling House.

Ojuko noted that the nomination and the election process was conducted in a peaceful manner devoid of rancour while adding that the installation date would be announced by government in due course.

“It is true that a candidate has been elected as the Akarigbo of Remoland. He is Prince Tunde Ajayi. I am happy the processes have been peaceful, I mean both the nomination and selection and very soon, the installation date will be announced,” Ojuko added.

Tribune Online learnt that Prince Ajayi emerged the new Akarigbo in an open ballot election conducted Chief Rasak Akinyemi Salami (Lisa), Chief Abdul Wasiu Awofala (Losi), Chief Taiwo Sule ( Oluwo Odofin), Chief Lamidi Olaitan Adesanya (Apena), Chief Ogunyemi Tijani Adesina (Ogbeni odi), Chief Kolawole Odumuyiwa (Balogun)and Olotu Omoba JAS Adekunle (Olotu Omoba Akarigbo).

It was further learnt that the election was supervised by the Secretary to the Local Government, Chief Adewale Fakoya who read the names of the 19 nominees to the kingmakers, requesting them to cast their votes for the candidate of their choice.

One of the kingmakers was said to have moved the motion to forward the name of the new traditional ruler-elect to the state government and was seconded by Chief Kolawole (Balogun).

The remaining 17 contestants had no vote.

Related posts

Leave a Comment