Fayemi is Ekiti Governor-Elect -INEC

The Independent National Electoral Commission has declaredย Dr. Kayode Fayemi of the All Progressives Congress as the winner of the July 14 governorship election.

The Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ibadan and Returning Officer for the election, Prof. Idowu Olayinka, said he had satisfied the requirement of the law by polling the highest lawful votes in the election.

Fayemi polled 197, 459 to beat Prof. Kolapo Olusola of the Peoples Democratic Party who scored 178,121 votes.

He won in 12 Local Government Areas while Olusola won in four local governments.
Fayemi won in Ilejemeje, Irepodun/Ifelodun, Ido/Osi, Oye, Moba, Ijero, Gbonyin, Ekiti West, Ikole, Ise/Orun, Ekiti East and Ekiti Southwest.
Olusola, the incumbent deputy governor, ย won in Ado, Ikere, Emure and Efon.
Olayinka said, โ€œThat John Kayode Fayemi of the APC having satisfied the requirement of law has scored the highest lawful vote is hereby returned the winner.โ€
The moment he made the declaration, agents and supporters of Fayemi went into jubilation.
The Resident Electoral Commissioner in Ekiti, Prof. Abdul-Ganiy Raji, commended the efforts of INEC officials and ad-hoc staff for the success of the election.
โ€œToday would not have been possible except with their cooperation.โ€
He also commended the traditional rulers in the state for assisting INEC to liaise with their subjects and political parties.
โ€œAll the National commissioners worked very well, this shows that there is hope for this country. To the people of Ekiti, we have delivered and they have cooperated.โ€

Related posts

Leave a Comment