Ooni of Ife, Oba Adeyeye Enitan Ogunwusi, Ojaja lll, is Nigerian of The Year 2016

Ooni of Ife, Oba Adeyeye Enitan, Ogunwusi, Ojaja lll was this afternoon announced as winners of the 2016 edition of National Infinity Magazine’s Nigerian of the Year award.

According to a release signed by Olajide Ige, Editor-In-Chief of the magazine, Oba Adeyeye Ogunwusi, who barely a year ago mounted the throne of his fore fathers as the 51st  Ooni of Ife, the most revered traditional stool and most paramount among Yoruba Obas was chosen in recognition of his contributions to peace and development of Yorubaland through his peace mission across Yorubaland that has built a bridge of friendship and a new sense of brotherhood among the Yorubas.

2016 was a year dominated by tales of economic hardship and recession, but the Ooni’s peace moves made positive and refreshing headlines.

The magazines online audience, in-house editorial team and selected journalists overwhelmingly voted Oba Adeyeye Ogunwusi as the only Nigerian, whose activities dominated the media space positively in 2016.

The award presentation will hold during the forthcoming Babatunde Jose Lecture on Media and the Society on a date to be announced later.

Past winners of the Nigerian of the Year are Alhaji Aliko Dangote (2010), Rt. Hon, Aminu Tambuwal (2011) The Nigerian Mases (2012) Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola (2013), Ebola doctor, Late Dr. Stella Adadevoh  and Ahmed Abdulfattah, Gov. Kwara State, (2014) Sen. Aisha Jumai Alhassan (2015)

Related posts

Leave a Comment